My Workout Playlist to Cure A Motivation Meltdown

i1xdiyfo

Remember back to this post when I said I wanted to reach 100 miles at the end of February?

Sorry to burst your bubble Sam, but you’re probably not going to hit that goal with the way you are exercising. Let’s take a look at my regimented schedule shall we?

I’ll download a few episodes of The Inbetweeners or Parks and Recreation on Netflix and watch them while I jog on the treadmill for an hour. That seems like a fine way to exercise. Sometimes, my parents will ask me to do chores, which is fine. But after the dishwasher is empty and the clothes are folded and a few other things, walking on the treadmill is the last thing I want to do.

A few days ago I was asked to grab some garbage bags and rake leaves on an unusually warm February day. About an hour and a half and two bags of leaves later, my back started to ache every time I bent over, pushing leaves in the black bags. I even looked up at all of the trees surrounding our house and cursed at them for not being man enough to hold onto their leaves during such a warm winter. I stopped once I got to four bags and my back felt so tight; I couldn’t have entertained the thought of running on the treadmill. Yesterday was worse because my whole back was sore and exercising was the last thing on my mind. If it hurt to sit down, I couldn’t imagine trying to run.

Maybe I’m feeling this motivation meltdown because I put all of my energy into simple household chores and then feel wiped out to do anything else. But then I look at my parents or my friends who balance day jobs and school work and exercise all at once and I know my problem is minuscule to them. Perhaps instead of watching TV shows I’ve already seen before, I need to listen to something new.

To remedy this meltdown of sorts, I’ve made a playlist for an hour’s exercise. The key to a good and fresh workout playlist is a mix of music genres, song speeds, new songs, and favorite songs. If you are feeling unmotivated, maybe you could use this playlist too. Because vacation is a few months away and I want to be happy with myself and not lazy loafing around. 

Leave a Reply

