November 9th: The Real April Fools’ Day

I woke up at 6 AM to take part in history. My first presidential election and I proudly voted for Hillary Clinton. People say they choose not to vote because their vote doesn’t matter. But I’m here to say it does. Because even though Clinton did not win the presidency, she won in Richmond and overall, Virginia. So whether you stood in line for 15 minutes or 3 hours to vote for her in one of the states she won, your  vote counted.

ScreenShot_20161109035308.png
I was bright eyed and bushy tailed. I was so happy to vote for the right choice and make HERstory.

It was heartbreaking to watch CNN project win after win for Trump. I was helping WVCW, VCU’s student run radio station, with their big electoral coverage show, providing stats and constantly refreshing CNN, ABC and other news outlet Twitter accounts.

We all had hope, even the Libertarians in the room, for Clinton to pull through. We started at 6 PM and as the night went on we were afraid to refresh the tabs of all of the election coverage on our laptops. We wrapped the broadcast thirty minutes after we were supposed to end and left into the night knowing Trump needed only 26 votes to win and that Clinton was far behind.

I walked home with one of my friends and he said he was going straight to bed and wanted to wake up to realize it was all a bad dream. I said I wanted to wake up in another country as their citizen to realize I was never in any Trump trouble at all and it too was also just a bad dream. I want someone to tell me that Super Tuesday is a hoax and the results of November 9th are an early April Fools’ prank.

Back in June 2015, I wrote this post when I heard Donald Trump was running for the Republican nomination. I thought this guy couldn’t possibly make any head way. He’s a reality star and a businessman. America shouldn’t be treated like Celebrity Apprentice.


So I sit here in silence and wonder how most of the US could do this to all of the citizens Trump has hurt with his words. How could you want this man to represent as a role model and the face of your country for your children when this man could tell your son to grab his girlfriend by the pussy?


I don’t think it’s appropriate to pull an April Fools’ prank this early, because the punchline is woman’s rights, immigration laws, LGBTQA and too many more for Donald Trump to even care about.

I say your vote matters because you have a right to express your opinion. Your vote matters even more if the party you picked won the state. Think of it this way — every vote counted until they had a winner, and unfortunately enough people were celebrating April 1st a bit too early.

Leave a Reply

