From an Argument Far, Far Away

yes, uV5n2U2b. The last night of 2015 was spent with my mom, sister and best friend T. We ate finger food snacks and not enough cookies. We played dance and karaoke games on the Wii. When all of the clocks on the east coast hit 12, we went outside banging pots and lids, creating a percussion ruckus. The next morning however…

Dear Star Wars: The Force Awakens, you almost ruined the first day of 2016.

It was January 1st and I woke up to the sounds of my mom cooking eggs and bacon, my dad talking about something on TV and my best friend tapping at her phone. We had stayed up until 2 AM after celebrating the new year’s arrival and were just waking up at 11:30 AM. I heard hustle and bustle out in the living room but instead of getting out of bed and see what the hubbub was, I rolled onto my back and checked my phone.

Little did I know, my family was trying to decide which showtime is best for us to see the new Star Wars movie.  After thirty minutes of being fully awake but still in bed, T decided it was time for her to leave and she drove away. As I waved goodbye, a battle was brewing inside the house about the biggest blockbuster of the year*.

My mom wanted to purchase tickets online, but my dad wanted to get out of the house as soon as possible and buy tickets there (he doesn’t like online purchases.) While they were going back and forth, all of the tickets for the afternoon shows were bought and the ‘rents were mad.

The lesson to be learned here is to make a definite decision. On January 1st, I learned my family was very indecisive. We thought about going to the 5 PM showing (too late) or going the next day but without my dad (he had to work), but no one wanted to go without him and, frankly I don’t care if I see the movie or not.

We decided to see the movie next weekend and are paying for the tickets ahead of time. The rest of the night went well. We watched home videos and Hardcore Pawn, determining which customers were throwing real temper tantrums or playing fake gimmicks.

It was a period of civil war, but we found new hope.

*not sure if this is 2015’s biggest blockbuster, but with all the hype, I’ll just say it is.

Leave a Reply

