On The Bookshelf: May

So how about those New Years Resolutions? Have you completed or even tried starting them?

Last year one of my resolutions was to read and enjoy books more. There are all sorts of great books in my closet and now a year has passed and I never read a single book I wasn’t required to. Now it’s summertime and when I get tired of watching reruns of Spongebob and scrolling my Facebook feed, I’ll pick a book to crack open.

This month, I revisited Deadly, the 14th book in Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series. 

I had started it last summer but hadn’t gotten the downtime to really get into it again during the semester.

For those of you who do not know what the Pretty Little Liars series is about, four girls are tormented by an anonymous texter (A) threatening to tell everyone about the girl’s lies and pasts if the ladies do not follow what A orders. Characters end up dead, lied to, relationships are started and broken and now everyone thinks the foursome have a suicide pact in the latest installment.

The PLL gang are at it again with A threatening to reveal the girl’s shenanigans, while Spencer, Emily, Hanna and Aria try to hunt down Ali and whoever Helper A is. I love this series for it’s twists and turns, but sometimes I shake my head at the actions these girls do. It seems every book the girls try to stage a trap to find A which always ends in A getting away or one of the girls almost getting run over by a car or pushed off a ledge. The group also sneaks into abandoned shacks and empty houses all the time and I can’t believe none of them think what they are doing might not be a good idea.

Nonetheless, the shocking twist at the end of the book made me question what I had read in “Crushed” and “Burned“, the two previous books. I might just have to re-read them.

I can’t wait to get back to Barnes and Noble and purchase the 15th book, “Toxic.” There are only two more books left in the series and I need to prepare myself for the end. Shepard writes amazingly addicting novels – She is the author of “The Lying Game” series and I own four of those books myself.

I am almost finished with “Hide and Seek“, the fourth installment of TLG books. The Lying Game’s premise is about Emma, a girl who is being forced to replace the life of Sutton, her identical twin who was murdered (by someone the audience doesn’t know) and Emma just has to act and pretend to be her sister she has never met before. I kind of butchered the synopsis but that’s it in a nutshell.

Although I have only read one book in May, I plan to have a different outcome in June; My goal is to read five books.

I think I now know what I’ll be spending my summer job checks on.. 🙂

3 thoughts on “On The Bookshelf: May

    1. The series runs with the books sometimes, but both are two different experiences. If you love the show, I highly recommend to read the series — new characters to fall in love with, be afraid of and it’s fun to cross examine with the show and see how the characters are different.

Leave a Reply

