Charlie, Charlie, I’ve Got Your Number/867-5-Demon Time

The internet has unearthed a new way for idle hands to grab a pencil and paper – but it’s not what you think. The #CharlieCharlieChallenge is an attempt to summon a Mexican demon, Charlie and post your experience with the supernatural on social media. Have you tried it?To set the game, grab a piece of paper and divide it into four sections, crossing a vertical and horizontal line. Write YES in two opposing sections and NO in the remaining two. Put one pencil on the horizontal line and then balance the other pencil on top, hovering over the vertical line. To start the game, you need to chant the phrase “Charlie, Charlie, are you there?” or “Charlie, Charlie, can we play?” (I’ve heard both used.) Now, eventually the pencil will move because of the potential energy it has balancing on top of the pencil. When the pencil does move, it is seen as a sign Charlie is in the room.  Many people have been freaked out from their experiences (real or fake.)

Some are being a bit more comical than others. After seeing the viral video sensation blow up, my sister wants to play and get me involved in it. #hellno. I have seen enough Paranormal Activity movies to not get involved with that stuff. Sure Ouija boards are interesting and Bloody Mary is tempting, but I don’t want to bring anything into my life or my family’s that just shouldn’t be there. Now before anyone comments that the whole thing is a sham, I believe you. I believe it’s not a real demon or spirit and the placing of the pencils will eventually cause the balancing pencil to move in a direction. But it still has the scare factor. Little sis’ won’t let up on wanting to play ever since she’s seen the video compilations. Part of me thinks she wants to do this because everyone else is doing it, part of me thinks it’s because she’s so bored. Like I said, idle hands man. But for now, I’ll just keep rereading this story published by one of the countless news websites reporting on the phenomenon. Just like TheDress, it will be tucked away with the rest of the pop culture freaks 2015 has to offer.

One thought on “Charlie, Charlie, I’ve Got Your Number/867-5-Demon Time

Leave a Reply

